IAMBE Elected 26 New Fellows

The International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering (IAMBE) welcomed and elected 26 Fellows for the Class of 2021.

The IAMBE, affiliated with the International Federation of Medical and Biological Engineering (IFMBE), is made up of Fellows who are recognized for their outstanding contributions to the profession of medical and biological engineering. Election to the Academy is highly selective, initiated by nominations which are involved with at least 3 current Fellows and screened by the Membership Committee of the Academy. The election is conducted by a vote of all Fellows of the Academy. There are currently less than 250 Fellows world-wide.

Congratulations to all the newly elected Fellows!

Mark Anastasio, Donald Biggar Willett Professor in Engineering and Head of Bioengineering Depatment, University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign, ¡°for outstanding achievements in to photoacoustic computed tomography, biomedical image processing, and bioengineering education¡±

John Bischof, Distinguished McKnight University Professor and Director of Institute for Engineering in Medicine, University of Minnesota, ¡°for significant original contributions to thermal bioengineering, thereby advancing cryopreservation, therapeutics and diagnostics¡±

Stephen Boppart, Grainger Distinguished Chair in Engineering and Head of Biophotonics Imaging Laboratory, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, ¡°for foundational advances in optical biomedical imaging and translation of optical imaging technologies into clinical applications and use¡±

Yoram Bresler, GEBI Founder Professor of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana¨CChampaign, ¡°for pioneering and seminal contributions to biomedical imaging theory, algorithms, and technology¡±

Christopher S. Chen, William F. Warren Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Founding Director of The Biological Design Center, Boston University, ¡°for basic and applied seminal contributions in cellular and tissue engineering, engineered microenvironments, and mechanobiology¡±

Ke Cheng, Randall B. Terry, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Regenerative Medicine, UNC-Chapel Hill & NC State University, ¡°For contributions in developing novel biomaterials and cell therapies for tissue engineering and regenerative medicine and apply them in clinical trials¡±

Francis Doyle, NAM, John A. & Elizabeth S. Armstrong Professor and Dean of Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University, ¡°for deep insights into natural biological control systems, such as circadian rhythms, and innovative engineering of manmade diabetes control devices¡±

Dayong Gao, Origincell Endowed Professor in Engineering & Director, Center for Cryo-Biomedical Engineering and Artificial Organs, University of Washington, ¡°for original and outstanding contributions and achievements in cryo-biomedicial engineering, biopreservation technology, fundamental cryobiology, and the science & technology of artificial organs¡±

Steven George, Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering, University of California, Davis, ¡°for significant contributions to our understanding of pulmonary gas exchange and methods to vascularize engineered human tissues¡±

James Goh, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, National University of Singapore, ¡°for leadership in medical and biological engineering¡±

Jane Grande-Allen, Isabel C. Cameron Professor of Bioengineering, Rice University, ¡°for developing mechanically complex biomaterials and bioreactors to investigate cardiovascular and intestinal mechanobiology, and for identifying disease-based and age specific remodeling programs affecting the extracellular matrix and mechanics of heart valves¡±

Mark Grinstaff, Distinguished Professor of Translational Research and Director of Nanotechnology Innovation Center, Boston University, ¡°for advancing the development of polymeric biomaterials with establishment of a nationally recognized training program in translational research, and co-invention of clincally used drug delivery systems and biomaterials¡±

Zhen Gu, Qiushi Distinguished Professor and Dean of College of Pharmaceutical Sciences Zhejiang University, China, ¡°for outstanding contributions to advancing fundamental and technological innovations in the field of drug delivery¡±

Justin Hanes, Lewis J. Ort Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of Center for Nanomedicine, Johns Hopkins University, ¡°for pioneering discoveries and inventions of innovative drug delivery technologies, especially mucosal drug delivery systems; and for international leadership in clinical translation of drug delivery technologies¡±

Chien Ho, Alumni Professor, Carnegie Mellon University, ¡°for outstanding and pioneering contributions to labeled-cell imaging using magnetic resonance imaging¡±

Joseph Irudayaraj, Founder Professor of Bioengineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, ¡°for pioneering contributions to the development of nanoparticle biosensors and single-cell technologies for quantification of mRNA and other disease biomarkers¡±

Philip LeDuc, William J. Brown Professor, Carnegie Mellon University, ¡°for outstanding contributions to the field of cell and molecular biomechanics and bioengineering, to the bioengineering professional societies, and for advising underrepresented minorities¡±

Xuelong Li, National Distinguished Chair Professor, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China, ¡°for contributions to biomedical imaging and data analytics¡±

Yi-Xian Qin, Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering, Stony Brook University, ¡°for significant contributions to cellular and tissue regeneration in the musculoskeletal system, and to bone assessment and guided treatment of fracture healing

Eleftherios Papoutsakis, NAE, Unidel Eugene DuPont Chair Professor in Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, University of Delaware, ¡°for solving biotechnological problems that enabled the development of gamechanging cell-culture technologies to produce protein therapeutics that have transformed the treatment of cancer and autoimmune diseases¡±

Yu-Chong Tai, NAE, Anna L. Rosen Professor and Chair of Medical Engineering, California Institute of Technology, ¡°for significant contributions to microelectromechanical biomedical devices¡±

Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, NAE, NAM, University Professor, Columbia University, ¡°for pioneering studies in engineering functional human tissues for regenerative medicine and study of diseases¡±

William Wagner, Director and Professor of Surgery, McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine, University of Pittsburgh, ¡°for pioneering contributions to regenerative medicine and for integrating engineering expertise within the clinical environment, and championing innovation investment at the state and national level¡±

Joyce Wong, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering, Boston University, ¡°for innovative biomaterials development to probe how structure, material properties and composition of cell biomaterial interfaces modulate fundamental cellular processes, and for advancing and promoting women in STEM¡±

Savio L.-Y. Woo, NAE, NAM, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, University of Pittsburgh, ¡°for pivotal contributions and leadership in biomechanics and bioengineering, leading to revolutionary treatments and rehabilitation strategies for improved patient care for ligament and tendon injuries worldwide¡±

Kun Zhang, Professor and Chair of Bioengineering, University of California, San Diego, ¡°For significant contributions to single-DNA-molecule and single-cell analyses of stem cells, brain and cancers¡±




Copyright © 2014 International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering. All Rights Reserved.